Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Council Overview

Wheathampstead Parish Council is comprised of twelve councillors elected every four years.

Staff Members

  • Julia Warren (Clerk to the Council)
  • Kathryn Briggs (Events & Communications Officer)
  • Slava Koshevin  (Caretaker)

On this website you can obtain information on all aspects of the council, including its business plan, committee structure, minutes, agendas and financial documentation. The council also works closely with the community to form working groups to manage projects. These working groups are comprised of councillors and non-councillors.

Full Council meets at 7.00pm on the last Thursday of every month (except December) in the Leasey Amwell Room at the Memorial Hall.  Everyone is welcome.

There are three tiers of local government, each with different responsibilities. Wheathampstead Parish Council is the first and local tier, with an important role to play in promoting the village and outlying settlements, representing its interests and supporting the work of different groups and residents within the community.

Wheathampstead Parish Council is responsible for the following local services: the management and maintenance of open spaces, play areas and sports fields; maintaining bus shelters (shared with County); the provision of allotments; the provision and emptying of litter and dog fouling bins (shared with County); the funding and delivery of village events including Village Weekend (usually the first weekend in July) and Christmas Lights Up (usually the last Thursday in November); publishing the quarterly newsletter The Pump; maintenance of East Lane Car Park (free parking); and maintaining and renting out The Memorial Hall facilities and all weather pitch on Marford Playing Fields.

St Albans District Council (SADC) is the second tier and is responsible for services including housing and environmental services.  SADC is also responsible for strategic planning policies for all development (including housing and employment sites) via its Local Plan (See 4.6.3 of the Business Plan). Finally, Hertfordshire County Council’s (HCC) responsibilities include highways, relating to both roads and footways (pavements), education, health and social services, public rights of way and libraries.

Residents elect twelve Parish Councillors every four years. The Council elects a Chairman and Vice-Chairman annually at the Annual Parish Council Meeting in May. The Council reports to the electorate at the Annual Parish Meeting.  Councillors are unpaid. Councillors commit their time to improving Wheathampstead and maintaining it as an attractive and sustainable place in which to live, visit and do business.  Elections are held every four years (2015, 2019, 2023 etc).

To get a full picture of our activities look at the Parish Council’s Business Plan where you will find a full description of the Councils activities and how it operates.  The main sections in the document include:

  • Overview of the council, staff, vision and objectives
  • Financial summary
  • Areas of responsibility
  • Governance and communication
  • General activities and commitments
  • Three year plan and projects

This diagram shows the structure of the council and how it interacts with the community and other layers of government.Leasey Amwell